Nirvana will celebrate the 30th anniversary of the trio’s final studio album, 1993’s In Utero with a massive box set. The raw collection that solidified the band’s mix of shimmering, urgent pop songwriting (“Sever the Servant,” “Heart-Shaped Box,” “Pennyroyal Tea”) and scorched earth punk (“Scentless Apprentice,” “Rape Me,” “Milk It”), will be reissued in a number of formats on Oct. 27 with a slew of previously unreleased material.

The bonus features on the remastered collection include 53 previously unreleased tracks, including two never-before-released full concerts from the In Utero tour. The album, originally released on Sept. 21, 1993, became Nirvana’s first No. 1 album on the Billboard 200 album charts following the surprise global success of their 1991 major label debut, Nevermind. The anniversary formats will include an 8LP super deluxe box set, 5CD super deluxe box, as well as a 1 LP + 10? edition, 2CD deluxe edition and a digital super deluxe edition.

The super deluxe editions will include 72 tracks, including the Live in Los Angeles (1993) concert and the band’s final Seattle performance, 1994’s Live in Seattle; there will also be six additional bonus live tracks from shows in Rome, Springfield and New York. Seattle producer and engineer Jack Endino — who was behind the boards for the band’s 1988 debut, Bleach — reconstructed the live tracks from stereo soundboard tapes, according to a release announcing the sets.

The album’s original 12 songs — which also include “Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle,” “Dumb,” “Very Ape,” “Tourette’s” and “All Apologies” — as well as five bonus tracks and b-sides were newly remastered from the original analog master stereo tapes by Bob Weston at Chicago Mastering Services; Weston assisted In Utero engineer Steve Albini during the original sessions.

The physical super deluxe edition box also has a removable front acrylic panel with the album’s iconic angel cover art, as well as a 48-page hardcover book with unreleased photos, a newly designed 20-page fanzine, an L.A. tour poster lithograph by hot rod artist Coop and replicas of the 1993 record store promo angel mobile. The sets will also pack in three gig fliers, two ticket stubs for L.A. and Seattle shows, an all-access tour laminate and four cloth sticky tour backstage passes.

The second LP will feature five bonus tracks and b-sides: “Gallons of Rubbing Alcohol Flow Through the Strip,” “Marigold,” “Sappy,” “Moist Vagina” and “I Hate Myself and Want to Die.”

Check out the track listing for the 8-LP super deluxe edition below (and the rest of the editions here):

LP 1
Original Album Remastered


1. Serve The Servants
2. Scentless Apprentice
3. Heart-Shaped Box
4. Rape Me
5. Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle
6. Dumb


1. Very Ape
2. Milk It
3. Pennyroyal Tea
4. Radio Friendly Unit Shifter
5. tourette’s
6. All Apologies

LP 2:


1. Gallons Of Rubbing Alcohol Flow Through The Strip
2. Marigold
3. Sappy 
4. Moist Vagina
5. I Hate Myself And Want To Die

BONUS LIVE 1993/1994


1. Serve The Servants (Live in Rome)*
2. Scentless Apprentice (Live in Rome)*
3. Heart-Shaped Box (Live in Rome)* 
4. Very Ape (Live in Rome)*
5. Milk It (Live in Springfield)*
6. tourette’s (Live in New York)*

LP 3-5
Great Western Forum – December 30, 1993


1. Radio Friendly Unit Shifter*
2. Drain You*
3. Breed*
4. Serve The Servants*


1. Come As You Are*
2. Smells Like Teen Spirit*
3. Sliver*
4. Dumb*


1. In Bloom*
2. About A Girl*
3. Lithium*
4. Pennyroyal Tea*


1. School*
2. Polly*
3. Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle*
4. Rape Me*
5. Territorial Pissings*


1. Jesus Doesn’t Want Me For A Sunbeam*
2. The Man Who Sold The World*
3. All Apologies*
4. On A Plain*


1. Heart-Shaped Box
2. Blew*
3. Feedback Jam*

*previously unreleased

Gil Kaufman
Source link

Leave a Reply