It’s gonna be them. Chart-topping boy band *NSYNC is set to reunite onstage at the 2023 MTV Video Music Awards on Tuesday (Sept. 12), a source confirms to Billboard.

The Grammy-nominated vocal group — which consists of Justin Timberlake, JC Chasez, Joey Fatone, Chris Kirkpatrick and Lance Bass — “will be onstage together,” the insider says.

The group has been rumored to have recorded new music for the upcoming film Trolls Band Together after posters spotted in NYC appear to tease *NSYNC’s logo. Timberlake is reprising his role as Branch in the animated movie — the third in the Trolls franchise — alongside Camila Cabello, Troye Sivan, Kid Cudi and more.

If the rumors of the new song from *NSYNC are true, it would mark the group’s first musical release together since 2002. That year, the band covered “When You Wish Upon a Star” for the Disneymania compilation album, and released the Nelly-assisted “Girlfriend” — which peaked at No. 5 on the Billboard Hot 100 — as the final single from their 2001 Billboard 200-topping Celebrity album, their last studio LP.

Due to the ongoing SAG-AFTRA and WGA strikes, *NSYNC will not mention Trolls Band Together. Members of the labor unions are currently on strike, demanding a larger share of streaming residuals, increased job security for writers, larger writers’ rooms and a limit on the use of A.I. in screenwriting and background acting, among other negotiating points.

A reunion at the VMAs on Tuesday night would also mark 10 years since their last reunion on the awards show’s stage in 2013, for Timberlake’s Video Vanguard Award medley. In 2019, Chasez, Kirkpatrick, Fatone and Bass joined Ariana Grande onstage during her headlining Coachella set to perform “Break Up With Your Girlfriend, I’m Bored” and “Tearin’ Up My Heart” without Timberlake.

A new song from *NSYNC would follow several recent releases and performances from the band members. On Monday, Sept. 10, Fatone joined forces with Bow Wow for an adorable performance of The Jackson 5’s “ABC” for the launch of Season 10 of The Masked Singer. Earlier this year, Timberlake guested on Coco Jones’ “ICU” remix and appeared alongside Timbaland and Nelly Furtado on “Keep Going Up.”

*NSYNC has earned six top 10 hits on the Hot 100, including “Bye Bye Bye” (No. 4), “This I Promise You” (No. 5) and “It’s Gonna Be Me” (No. 1, two weeks). On the Billboard 200, the boy band has notched four top 10 titles, including the No. 1 album No Strings Attached (8 weeks) and Celebrity (one week).

Kyle-Brandon Denis
Source link

Leave a Reply