The International Cricket Council is hoping to capture the vibrancy and excitement of the Twenty20 cricket format with a new visual brand identity for their T20 World Cup tournaments.

The ICC unveiled the new brand identity on Thursday, December 7, and it will be used for the first time at the 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, which will be held in the West Indies and the United States.

The makeover captures the inherent drama in every ball bowled in T20 cricket, renowned for its fast-paced action and high-octane moments. The new visual identity captures the format’s relentless energy.

International Cricket Council

The main part of the new World Cup logo is the characters “T20” arranged to form a cricket bat. A zigzag pattern around the bat, plus the ICC initials at the bottom, roughly form the shape of a cricket ball.

The logo, a creative fusion of bat, ball, and energy, symbolises the core elements of T20I cricket. The T20 lettering dynamically transforms into a swinging bat, encapsulated within a dynamic ball.

The strike graphic within the ball mirrors the unique atmosphere and electric energy experienced in T20Is, with the zig-zag pattern alluding to rising excitement and heart-pounding moments.

International Cricket Council

The logo will be modified for each tournament so that it “incorporates textures and patterns inspired by the host country for each World Cup edition.” The 2024 version will pay homage to “to both the palm trees of the West Indies and the ‘stripes’ of the USA,” though the tournament-specific logo was not released on Thursday.

“The ICC Men’s and Women’s T20 World Cups promise to deliver an electrifying and edge-of-your-seat experience to cricket fans globally, and we hope the new visual identity reflects that vision and energy,” said Claire Furlong, the ICC’s general manager of marketing and communications.  

Twenty20 cricket is a shortened form of the game, designed to be played in about two and a half hours. Each team bats once, trying to score as many runs as they can in 20 overs; each over is comprised of six balls, so they face a maximum of 120 balls. A batting team’s inning can also end if the fielding team accumulates 10 wickets, though that’s rare in T20.

England defeated Pakistan to win the last ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, which was held in Australia in 2022.

The 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will take place from June 4 to 30 in seven venues around the West Indies and United States:

Kensington Oval 28,000 ?? Bridgetown, Barbados
Daren Sammy Cricket Ground 15,000 ?? Gros Islet, Saint Lucia
Amos Vale Stadium 18,000 ?? Kingstown, Saint Vincent
Brian Lara Cricket Academy 15,000 ?? San Fernando, Trinidad
Central Broward Park 40,000 ?? Lauderhill, Florida, USA
Eisenhower Park 34,000 ?? East Meadow, New York, USA
Grand Prairie Stadium 15,000 ?? Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

In total, 20 teams will participate in the T20 World Cup. The group stage will have four groups of five teams each playing a single round-robin, with the top two teams in each group advancing to the Super 8s. There, two groups of four will again play a single round-robin, with the top two from each group advancing to the knockout stage.

The first-place team from the Super 8s Group 1 will play the second-place team from Group 2 in one semifinal, while second place from Group 1 plays first place from Group 2 in the other. The winners of those matches will meet in the final.

Teams that have qualified for the 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup include:

?? United States West Indies ?? Australia England
?? India ?? Netherlands ?? New Zealand ?? Pakistan
?? South Africa ?? Sri Lanka ?? Afghanistan ?? Bangladesh
Ireland* Scotland ?? Papua New Guinea ?? Canada
?? Nepal ?? Oman ?? Namibia ?? Uganda
*All-Ireland team with players from both the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland

Source link

Leave a Reply