Photo courtesy of @MFinalFour on X/Twitter.

Although the First Four marked the official start of the NCAA Tournament, March Madness begins in earnest on Thursday with a first-round matchup between No. 8 seed Mississippi State and ninth-seeded Michigan State (12:15 p.m. on CBS).

The tournament – which has been played almost every year since 1939, except for 2020, when it was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic – will culminate with the Final Four at State Farm Stadium in Glendale, Arizona, on April 6 and 8.

With that, we’ve decided to take a look at every Final Four logo dating back to the 1978-79 season, when the NCAA ditched its own logo in favor of a new design each year – most of which pay homage to the location of the event.

Interestingly, Kansas City has hosted the Final Four more times than any other city with 10, including the 1940-42, 1953-55, 1957, 1961, 1964 and 1988 events. 

That’s followed by Indianapolis – where the NCAA is headquartered – with eight, though the city will pull into a tie atop the list by hosting the Final Four in 2026 and 2029.

The only other locations to host the Final Four at least five times include New York City (seven), New Orleans (six), Louisville (six) and Seattle (five). San Antonio will soon join that list, as well, when the Alamodome hosts the event for the fifth time in 2025.

Source link

Leave a Reply